Home

Our team



Thomas Grunge


Key experiences shape you for life. As an 11-year-old boy in 1976, Thomas watched the sky through the skylight of the house with his father's spotting scope. A bright spot at that time surprisingly turned into a planet with its moons. This first sight of Jupiter left a deep impression on him and sparked Thomas' interest in astronomy.

After graduating from high school, Thomas trained as a foreign trade merchant and then completed a geoscientific degree. Professionally, he works in controlling, software development and further education at a large building materials cooperation near Frankfurt a.M.

Curiosity about the world in which we live accompanies Thomas in his life.

Astronomy as a hobby is very complex. Thomas' interests changed over time from purely visual observation to astrophotography and then to photometry and spectroscopy. On these pages he would like to share his results and experiences with you.

What has remained is the fascination of the little boy looking at the sky through the skylight.




Dr. Gerold Holtkamp


Gerold is particularly interested in photometry as a method of obtaining information about stars and their planets, although stars appear to us only as points of light. The so-called exoplanets are his main interest.

It is precisely this evidence that our solar system and our Earth are by no means unique in the universe that fascinates and motivates him to engage with the sky above us.

In addition, the observation of objects, the so-called quasars, is a real challenge for him as an amateur.

He was born in 1954 and consciously witnessed the first moon landing. Perhaps this was the motivation for his physics studies. Although his career path took him away from research to management roles in industry and later academia, his interest in astronomy has never waned over the years.




Dr. Achim Tegeler


Achim was born in 1965. He has always been enthusiastic about the natural sciences and then as a consequence studied biology and devoted himself for many years to the protein driven control of photosynthesis in plants. His interests are wide-ranging – in addition to his involvement with astronomy, cosmology and astrophysics, Achim is also active as a watchmaker, goldsmith or in mechanical engineering, and he is passionate about cooking.

He also works in the team of the Planetarium Osnabrück and shows the starry sky and interesting video shows using the 8 meter dome of the planetarium.

In addition, Achim is part of the team at the Expo-Sternwarte Melle where he shows the starry sky on one of the world's largest amateur Newton telescopes.

Achim is particularly fascinated by the principle of natural science, in which the relationships of the smallest particles in the standard particle model can be used to plausibly explain the unimaginably large structures of the universe and its history... a story that is far from complete, let alone fully understood.

Startseite

Unser Team



Thomas Grunge


Schlüsselerlebnisse prägen fürs Leben. Als 11-jähriger Junge beobachtete Thomas im Jahre 1976 mit dem Spektiv seines Vaters den Himmel durch die Dachluke des Hauses. Ein heller Punkt verwandelte sich damals überraschenderweise in einen Planeten mit seinen Monden. Dieser erste Anblick des Jupiters hat sich tief eingeprägt und das Interesse an der Astronomie geweckt.

Nach dem Abi machte Thomas eine Ausbildung zum Außenhandelskaufmann und absolvierte dann ein geowissenschaftliches Studium. Beruflich arbeitet er im Controlling, in der Softwareentwicklung und Weiterbildung bei einer großen Baustoffkooperation in der Nähe von Frankfurt a.M.

Die Neugier auf die Welt, in der wir leben, begleitet Thomas in seinem Leben.

Die Astronomie als Hobby ist dabei sehr vielschichtig. Thomas‘ Interessen veränderten sich im Laufe der Zeit von der rein visuellen Beobachtung hin zur Astrofotografie und danach zur Fotometrie und Spektroskopie. Auf diesen Seiten möchte er seine Ergebnisse und Erfahrungen mit euch teilen.

Geblieben ist die Faszination des kleinen Jungen, der durch die Dachluke den Himmel betrachtet.




Dr. Gerold Holtkamp


Gerolds besonderes Interesse gilt der Photometrie als Methode, um Informationen über Sterne und ihre Planeten zu erhalten, obwohl Sterne für uns nur als Lichtpunkte erscheinen. Den sog. Exoplaneten gilt dabei sein Hauptinteresse.

Es sind genau diese Belege, dass unser Sonnensystem und unsere Erde keineswegs einzigartig im Universum sind, die ihn faszinieren und motivieren, sich mit dem Himmel über uns zu beschäftigen.

Darüber hinaus stellt die Beobachtung von Objekten, den sog. Quasaren, für ihn als Amateur eine echte Herausforderung dar.

Er wurde 1954 geboren und hat die erste Mondlandung bewusst miterlebt. Möglicherweise war dies die Motivation für sein Physikstudium. Obwohl ihn sein beruflicher Werdegang von der Forschung weg in Managementaufgaben in der Industrie und später im Hochschulbereich führte, ist sein Interesse an der Astronomie im Laufe der Jahre nie erloschen.




Dr. Achim Tegeler


Achim ist Jahrgang 1965. Schon immer war er von den Naturwissenschaften begeistert und hat dann auch Biologie studiert und sich lange Jahre der Steuerung der Photosynthese in Pflanzen gewidmet. Seine Interessen sind weit gefächert – neben der Beschäftigung mit Astronomie, Kosmologie und Astrophysik ist Achim auch immer wieder als Uhrmacher, Goldschmied oder im Maschinenbau aktiv, und er kocht leidenschaftlich gern.

Er arbeitet auch im Planetarium Osnabrück mit und zeigt dort die Shows und erläutert den Sternenhimmel in der acht Meter messenden Kuppel – oder auch gern unter freiem Himmel.

Darüber hinaus ist Achim im Team der Expo-Sternwarte Melle tätig, in der er an einem der weltgrößten Newton Amateurteleskope den Sternenhimmel zeigt.

Besonders fasziniert Achim das Prinzip der Naturwissenschaft, in der die Zusammenhänge der allerkleinsten Teilchen im Standard-Teilchenmodell genutzt werden können, um die unvorstellbar großen Strukturen des Universums und dessen Geschichte plausibel zu erklären…eine Geschichte, die noch lange nicht abgeschlossen, geschweige denn vollständig verstanden ist.