Home

Exoplanets

Exoplanet VHS 1256 b and its stars (Illustration), Source: NASA

Exoplanets are planets that orbit other stars outside our solar system. Their discovery and research are of great importance. Amateurs can contribute to the study of exoplanets. For example, they can provide supplementary data by measuring the so-called transit light curves, in which the parent star is somewhat obscured by the planet moving in front of it, or by frequently determining the brightness and possible variability of the parent star. These data are used when measurements are to be carried out with extremely expensive telescopes, partly in space, which are previously dependent on certain parameters, e.g. precise timing.

To provide a better overview of the exoplanets observed by kosmos-os, we have created a map of the starry sky with the positions of the exoplanets for you.



  • Measurement of the transit light curves of the exoplanets WASP-84b and KPS-1b on March 7 and 8, 2024
    The measurement of the transit light curves of the exoplanets WASP-84b and KPS-1b is described. The radius of the exoplanets is determined from the degree of “darkening” of the parent stars. The transit method makes this possible, although the two systems can only be observed as point sources of light.
  • Measurement of the transit light curve of the exoplanet TOI 3952.01 on January 10, 2024
    The measurement of the transit light curve of the exoplanet TOI 3952.01, 1929 light years away, is described. It is a recently discovered exoplanet. The own measured data are compared with the few available literature values.
  • Transit light curve of the exoplanet TOI-1259 A b on September 25th/26th, 2023
    The transit of the exoplanet TOI-1259 A b in front of its parent star, which is a component of a binary star system, is shown. The light curve recorded agrees well with the measurements of other authors. A detailed error analysis provides information on how to further improve this sensitive measurement method.
  • Measurement of the Transit Lightcurve of Exoplanet TrES-3 b
    The transit light curve of the exoplanet TrES-3 b was recorded and measured on May 27th and 28th 2023. The method used and the specific observation conditions are explained. The results are presented and discussed based on an evaluation in the international Exoplanet Transit Database (ETD). The own result is a contribution in the context of so-called citizen science for further exploration of exoplanets.
  • "Just" discovered - Exoplanet TOI-1259 A b
    The transit light curve of the exoplanet TOI-1259 A b, discovered just two years ago, was measured. The data determined agree well with literature values. It is a double star system, which is additionally interesting. The close position at the north celestial pole allows interesting further observations.
  • "boundless vastness" @ Home
    In the constellation Draco you can find exoplanets that are particularly bright. They can therefore be easily photometrically analyzed with small apertures. The measurement of the transit light curve of the exoplanet Qatar-10b is described. It was discovered in 2019 and confirmed as such.
  • The star HD189733 and its planet HD189733b
    Using the star HD189733 and its exoplanet 189733b, it is shown that even with a relatively small instrument from an urban light-polluted area, interesting meaningful measurements of stellar rotation and planetary transit in front of its parent star can be carried out. In addition, the synopsis of the results of many amateur astronomers worldwide enables further insights.
  • Exoplanet XO-2 N b at 27th February 2022
    Two sun-like stars (yellow dwarfs) orbit each other 486 light-years away in the constellation Lynx. Both stars, XO-2 N and XO-2 S, have a total of three exoplanets detected using the transit method. With amateur means, one of these exoplanets, XO-2 N b, could be detected on February 27, 2022 by a light curve.
  • Hot Jupiter with an uncooled DSLR
    The measurement of the light curve of the exoplanet Qatar-1 b with an uncooled DSLR camera is described. The challenge is to achieve a meaningful result despite the high noise.
  • Light curve of the exoplanet HAT-P-54b
    Thomas Grunge did not only take a picture in his garden, but a light curve of the exoplanet HAT-P-54b. This planet does not orbit around our sun, but around the star HAT-P-54, whose light has been on its way to us for 443 years. This planet can no longer be seen directly, but can only be detected when it passes in front of the star and slightly obscures the star's light.
  • Detecting exoplanets with my own equipment
    By 2019, more than 4500 planets had already been detected in alien star systems. Can the detection also succeed with your own astronomical equipment?
  • My first exoplanet measurement
    The author's first own exoplanet measurement is described. It has only been possible to detect exolanets since a historically very short time. Even amateurs can now understand this leap in knowledge in astronomy.

Startseite

Exoplaneten

Exoplanet VHS 1256 b und seine Sterne (Illustration), Quelle: NASA

Exoplaneten sind Planeten, die außerhalb unseres Sonnensystems um andere Sterne kreisen. Ihre Entdeckung und Erforschung sind von großer Bedeutung. Amateure können einen Beitrag zur Erforschung von Exoplaneten leisten. So können sie z.B. ergänzende Daten liefern durch Messung der sog. Transitlichtkurven, bei denen der Mutterstern etwas durch den vor ihm herziehenden Planeten verdunkelt wird, oder auch durch die häufige Bestimmung der Helligkeit und einer möglichen Variabiltät des Muttersterns. Diese Daten finden Anwendung, wenn Messungen mit extrem teuren Teleskopen, z.T. im Weltraum, durchgeführt werden sollen, die zuvor auf bestimmte Parameter, so z.B. ein genaues Timing angewiesen sind.



  • Messung der Transitlichtkurve des Exoplaneten TOI 3952.01 am 10.01.2024
    Es wird die Messung der Transitlichtkurve des 1929 Lichtjahre entfernten Exoplaneten TOI 3952.01 beschrieben. Es handelt sich um einen erst vor kurzem entdeckten Exoplaneten. Die eigenen gemessenen Daten werden mit den wenigen vorliegenden Literaturwerten verglichen.
  • Transitlichtkurve des Exoplaneten TOI-1259 A b am 25./26.9.2023
    Der Vorbeizug (Transit) des Exoplaneten TOI-1259 A b vor seinem Mutterstern, der eine Komponente eines Doppelsternsystems ist, wird gezeigt. Die aufgenommene Lichtkurve stimmt gut mit den Messungen anderer Autoren überein. Eine genaue Fehlerbetrachtung gibt Hinweise zur weiteren Verbesserung dieser sensiblem Messmethode.
  • Messung der Transitkurve des Exoplaneten TrES-3 b am 27.5.2023
    Die Transitlichtkurve des Exoplaneten TrES-3 b wurde am 27./28. Mai 2023 gemessen. Die angewendete Methode und die spezifischen Beobachtungsbedingungen werden erläutert. Die Ergebnisse werden vorgestellt und anhand einer Auswertung in der internationalen Datenbank Exoplanet Transit Database (ETD) diskutiert. Das eigene Ergebnis ist ein Beitrag im Rahmen der sog. Citizen Science zur weiteren Erkundung von Exoplaneten.
  • „Soeben“ entdeckt – Exoplanet TOI-1259 A b
    Es wurde die Transitlichtkurve des erst vor zwei Jahren entdeckten Exoplaneten TOI-1259 A b gemessen. Die ermittelten Daten stimmen gut mit Literaturwerten überein. Es handelt sich um ein Doppelsternsystem, was eine Besonderheit darstellt. Die nahe Position am Himmelsnordpol ermöglicht interessante weitere Beobachtungen.
  • „Unendliche Weiten“ @ Home
    Im Sternbild Draco findet man Exoplaneten, die besonders hell sind. Sie lassen sich daher gut mit kleinen Öffnungen photometrieren. Die Messung der Transitlichtkurve des Exoplaneten Qatar-10b wird beschrieben. Er wurde erst 2019 entdeckt und als solcher bestätigt.
  • Der Stern HD189733 und sein Planet HD189733b
    Am Stern HD189733 und seinem Exoplaneten 189733b wird gezeigt, dass auch mit einem relativ kleinen Instrument aus städtischem lichtverschmutzten Gebiet interessante aussagefähige Messungen der Sternrotation und des Planetentransits vor seinem Mutterstern durchgeführt werden können. Außerdem ermöglicht die Zusammenschau der Ergebnisse vieler Amateurastronomen weltweit weitere Erkenntnisse.
  • Exoplanet XO-2 N b am 27.02.2022
    486 Lichtjahre entfernt im Sternbild Lynx (Luchs) umkreisen einander zwei sonnenähnliche Sterne (gelbe Zwerge). Beide Sterne, XO-2 N und XO-2 S, besitzen insgesamt drei Exoplaneten, die mit der Transitmethode nachgewiesen wurden. Mit Amateurmitteln konnte einer dieser Exoplaneten, XO-2 N b, am 27.2.2022 durch eine Lichtkurve nachgewiesen werden.
  • Heißer Jupiter mit ungekühlter DSLR
    Die Messung der Lichtkurve des Exoplaneten Qatar-1 b mit einer ungekühlten DSLR-Kamera wird beschrieben. Die Herausforderung besteht darin, trotz des hohen Rauschen ein aussagefähiges Ergebnis zu erzielen.
  • Lichtkurve des Exoplaneten HAT-P-54b
    Thomas Grunge hat in seinem Garten kein Bild, sondern eine Lichtkurve des Exoplaneten HAT-P-54b aufgenommen. Dieser Planet kreist nicht um unsere Sonne, sondern um den Stern HAT-P-54, dessen Licht 443 Jahre bis zu uns unterwegs war. Diesen Planeten kann man nicht mehr direkt sehen, sondern nur nachweisen, wenn er vor dem Stern vorbei zieht und dabei das Licht des Sterns etwas verdunkelt.
  • Exoplaneten mit eigener Öffnung
    Bis zum Jahr 2019 waren bereits über 4500 Planeten in fremden Sternsystemen nachgewiesen worden. Kann der Nachweis auch mit der eigenen Astroausrüstung gelingen?