Home

Constellations


For as long as people have been looking at the sky, the stars have been an integral part of orientation, annual planning and cultural events. For example, the Nebra Sky Disc shows [1] the importance and use of the starry sky already about 4000 years ago!

The problem of using the starry sky today lies not only in the light pollution of our sky but also in the large number of stars themselves. Depending on the location, about 6000 to 6500 stars can be seen with the naked eye – so it is difficult to identify individual stars. Therefore, very early on, people began to summarize the stars in memorable pictures, which were then linked to comprehensible stories. In this way, different "constellations" were created in different cultures, which reflected parts of their own history or mythology.

Today, there is an international agreement on 88 constellations, which were established by the International Astronomical Union (IAU) in 1922 [2] , named in 1930, taking their cue from the Latin or latinized historical names and providing them with a three-letter abbreviation.

The respective boundaries of the constellations were also determined by the IAU in 1928, so that each individual star could be uniquely assigned to a constellation.

On the following pages we want to gradually shed light on different constellations and their stars or objects and show interesting facts about and pictures of these objects.


Here we present the reports on constellations:


Corona Borealis

  • Corona Borealis – Die Nördliche Krone
    The constellation Corona Borealis is easily found between the constellations Bootes and Hercules. It shows an open-to-the-top ring structure formed by seven relatively well-recognizable stars. We find very interesting stars here...
  • T Coronae Borealis – The Nova in the future
    A star in the constellation Northern Crown is described, for which a drastic increase in brightness is expected this year 2024. The historical events of this nova are discussed, but above all the current state of knowledge about this star, which lights up regularly about every 80 years.

Orion:

  • The Orion constellation and surrounding
    The Winter Hexagon represents an asterism composed of six stars from six different constellations. It consists of the very bright stars Capella in the constellation Auriga, Aldebaran in Taurus, Rigel in Orion, Sirius in Canis Majoris, Procyon in Canis Minor and Pollux in Gemini – in the sky, these stars form a beautiful hexagon, in the middle of which Orion can be found.
  • De Mairan's Nebula - M 43
    The De Mairan Nebula, which is directly adjacent to the Great Orion Nebula, is often not mentioned at all when observing the entire region around the constellation Orion. But it may be the cause of the spectacularly glowing HII regions on the Sword of Orion.
  • The Horsehead Nebula in Orion - B33
    The closest active star-forming region to Earth is in the constellation Orion in the so-called Horsehead Nebula. Over the past two decades, a great deal of research has been done to understand its structural structure and the mechanisms at work within it.
  • The star Betelgeuse - a Red Supergiant
    Betelgeuse, Orion's left shoulder star, is a Red Supergiant that has become the focus of science and, of course, amateur astronomy at the latest after its significant brightness dimming at the end of 2019. The purpose of this summary is to present the current state of the facts about Betelgeuse.
  • The Orion Nebula – M42
    The Orion Nebula or M42 is probably one of the most striking and therefore well-known deep sky objects in the nighttime winter sky.



Sources:

[1] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nebra_sky_disc

[2] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/International_Astronomical_Union

Startseite

Sternbilder


Seit die Menschen den Himmel betrachten, waren die Sterne ein fester Bestandteil der Orientierung, der Jahresplanung und der kulturellen Ereignisse. So zeugt z.B. die Himmelsscheibe von Nebra [1] von der Bedeutung und Nutzung des Sternenhimmels schon vor ca. 4000 Jahren!

Das Problem der Nutzung des Sternenhimmels liegt heute neben der Lichtverschmutzung unseres Himmels in der Vielzahl der Sterne an sich begründet. Je nach Standort können mit bloßem Auge ca. 6000 bis 6500 Sterne gesehen werden – da fällt es schwer, einzelne Sterne zu identifizieren. Daher haben die Menschen schon sehr früh begonnen, die Sterne in Bildern zusammenzufassen, die dann mit nachvollziehbaren Geschichten verknüpft wurden. So entstanden in unterschiedlichen Kulturen unterschiedliche „Sternbilder“, die Teile der eigenen Geschichte oder Mythologie widerspiegelten.

Heute hat man sich international auf 88 Sternbilder geeinigt, die 1922 von der Internationalen Astronomischen Union (IAU) [2] festgelegt und bis 1930 benannt wurden, wobei man sich an den lateinischen bzw. latinisierten, historischen Namen orientiert hat und diese mit einem aus drei Buchstaben bestehenden Kürzel versehen hat.

Auch die jeweiligen Grenzen der Sternbilder wurden 1928 durch die IAU festgelegt, sodass jeder einzelne Stern einem Sternbild eindeutig zugeordnet werden konnte.

Auf den folgenden Seiten wollen wir nach und nach unterschiedliche Sternbilder und deren Sterne bzw. Objekte näher beleuchten und interessante Fakten und Bilder zu diesen Objekten aufzeigen.


Hier geht es zu den einzelnen Beiträgen im Bereich Sternbilder:


Corona Borealis

  • Corona Borealis – Die Nördliche Krone
    Das Sternbild Nördliche Krone oder Corona Borealis ist leicht zwischen den Sternbildern Bärenhüter (Bootes) und Herkules zu finden. Es zeigt eine gut erkennbare, nach oben geöffnete Ringstruktur, die von sieben relativ gut erkennbaren Sternen gebildet wird. Wir finden hier sehr interessante Sterne…
  • T Coronae Borealis – Die Nova in spe
    Ein Stern im Sternbild Nördliche Krone wird beschrieben, für den in diesem Jahr 2024 ein drastischer Helligkeitsanstieg zu erwarten ist. Es wird auf die historischen Ereignisse dieser Nova, aber vor allem auf den heutigen Stand des Wissens über diesen regelmäßig etwa alle 80 Jahre aufleuchtenden Stern eingegangen.

Orion:

  • Der Orion und seine Umgebung
    Das Wintersechseck besteht aus den sehr hellen Sternen Capella im Sternbild Fuhrmann, Aldebaran im Stier, Rigel im Orion, Sirius im Großen Hund, Prokyon im Kleinen Hund und Pollux in den Zwillingen – am Himmel bilden diese Sterne ein schönes Sechseck, in dessen Mitte der Orion zu finden ist.
  • Der De Mairan Nebel – M 43
    Der direkt an den Großen Orionnebel angrenzende De Mairan Nebel wird bei der Beobachtung der Gesamtregion um das Sternbild Orion oft gar nicht erwähnt. Doch er ist womöglich die Ursache für die spektakulär leuchtenden HII Regionen am Schwert des Orion.
  • Der Pferdekopfnebel im Orion – B33
    Das der Erde am nächsten gelegene aktive Sternentstehungsgebiet liegt im Sternbild Orion im sog. Pferdekopfnebel. In den vergangenen zwei Jahrzehnten ist sehr viel Forschungsarbeit aufgewandt worden, um seinen strukturellen Aufbau und die in ihm wirkenden Mechanismen zu ergünden.
  • Der Stern Beteigeuze – ein Roter Überriese
    Beteigeuze, der linke Schulterstern des Orion, ist ein Roter Überriese, der spätestens nach seiner deutlichen Verdunkelung Ende 2019 in den Fokus der Wissenschaft und natürlich auch der Amateurastronomie gerückt ist. In dieser Zusammenfassung soll der aktuelle Stand der Fakten zu Beteigeuze dargestellt werden.
  • Der Orionnebel – M42
    Der Orionnebel oder M42 ist wohl eines der markantesten und damit auch bekanntesten Objekte am nächtlichen Winterhimmel.



Quellen:

[1] Himmelsscheibe von Nebra: https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Himmelsscheibe_von_Nebra

[2] IAU https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Internationale_Astronomische_Union