Home

De Mairan's Nebula - M 43

A contribution by Werner Wöhrmann and Dr. Achim Tegeler, April 05, 2024


The De Mairan Nebula, which is directly adjacent to the Great Orion Nebula, is often not mentioned at all when observing the entire region around the constellation Orion. But it may be the cause of the spectacularly glowing HII regions on the Sword of Orion.


The Orion molecular cloud complex, which comprises the Great Orion Nebula M 42, the Horsehead Nebula B 33, the Flame Nebula NGC 2024 and many more objects is also home of De Mairan's Nebula, M 43 or NGC 1982.

This nebula northeast of M 42 is optically separated from the large Orion Nebula by a ribbon-like structure of gas and dust and therefore appears as a separate luminous object – an emission nebula and H II region like M 42.  


The point of contact between M 43 and M 42 with the ionizing stars NU Orionis and Theta Orionis (trapezoid) (Infos on mouseover - Photo: Olaf Homeier)


In fact, however, the source that makes the gas glow in M 43 is different from that in M 42. The source of the radiation is the star NU Orionis (HD 37061). This star probably represents at least a triple system, the main component of which is classified in the spectral class B0.5 V to B1 V. The individual components of the system were discovered and characterized by spectroscopy and speckle interferometry [1] [2].

The hot star lies centrally in the molecular cloud at a distance of about 1300 light-years from Earth and has hollowed out M 43 from the inside out with its radiation.

Although the name NU Orionis tempts you to do so, one should be careful not to confuse NU Orionis with ν Orionis (Greek letter ν = n = Ny, HD 41753, often written as Nu), which is also located in Orion, but is a variable binary star that lies much further north halfway between Betelgeuse and Tejat (HD 44478) in Gemini and is only about 520 light-years from Earth.  

The nebula was discovered in 1731 by Jean Jacques d'Ortous de Mairan [3] – that's where the name De Mairan's Nebula comes from. Charles Messier gave it the number 43 in his catalogue in 1769 – hence the name M 43 [4].

Like M 42 and the Horsehead Nebula, M 43 is a star-forming region that is currently being intensively explored in order to gain information about the star formation process and the formation of planetary systems.

Fukui et al. 2018 presented a theory according to which M 43 and the Orion Nebula M 42, which is 10 times as large, are two gas clouds that collided with each other about 100 million years ago (cloud-cloud collision). Due to the high speed, a shock front is said to have formed, which produced the extremely hot stars of spectral class O in M 42. Thus, the enormous stars in the trapezoid at the center of the Great Orion Nebula would have been formed in the first place by the collision with the "little brother" M 43. This theory was derived from the measured velocities of the gases within the molecular cloud complex, which makes it possible to model the collision [5].

Although M 43 is now considered to be a part of M 42 optically separated by the ribbon-shaped dust cloud, this nebula probably has a different origin and, despite its much smaller size and low stellar density, is the reason for the existence of these fascinating emission nebulae at the Sword of Orion. So it's worth taking a closer look at these two objects from time to time.


<- Back to the overview article Orion and its surroundings


Sources:

[1] Speckle Interferometry https://www.mpifr-bonn.mpg.de/251223/speckle

[2] S. Simón-Díaz, J. García-Rojas, C. Esteban, G. Stasińska, A. R., López-Sánchez und C. Morisset “A detailed study of the H II region M 43 and its ionizing star” in Astronomy & Astrophysics,  Volume 530, June 2011

[3] Jean Jacques d’Ortous de Mairan https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jean_Jacques_d%E2%80%99Ortous_de_Mairan

[2] Messier Catalogue https://archive.is/Rh9Y3

[5] Fukui et al. “A New Look at the Molecular Gas in M42 and M43: Possible Evidence for Cloud–Cloud Collision that Triggered Formation of the OB Stars in the Orion Nebula Cluster” in  The Astrophysical Journal, 859:166 (22pp), 2018 June 1

Startseite

Der De Mairan Nebel – M 43

Ein Beitrag von Werner Wöhrmann und Dr. Achim Tegeler, 05.04.2023


Der direkt an den Großen Orionnebel angrenzende De Mairan Nebel wird bei der Beobachtung der Gesamtregion um das Sternbild Orion oft gar nicht erwähnt. Doch er ist womöglich die Ursache für die spektakulär leuchtenden HII Regionen am Schwert des Orion.


Der Orion Molekülwolkenkomplex, der den großen Orionnebel M 42, den Pferdekopfnebel B 33, den Flammennebel NGC 2024 und viele weitere Objekte beinhaltet, ist auch Heimat des De Mairan Nebels, M 43 oder NGC 1982.

Dieser Nebel nordöstlich von M 42 wird durch eine bandförmige Struktur aus Gas und Staub optisch vom großen Orionnebel getrennt und erscheint daher als separates, leuchtendes Objekt – ein Emissionsnebel und eine H II Region wie auch M 42.  


Die Kontaktststelle zwischen M 43 und M42 mit den ionisierenden Sternen NU Orionis und Theta Orionis (Trapez) (Beschriftung bei Mouseover – Photo: Olaf Homeier)


Tatsächlich ist aber die Quelle, die das Gas in M 43 zum Leuchten bringt, eine andere als in M 42. Die Quelle der Strahlung ist der Stern NU Orionis (HD 37061). Dieser Stern stellt wohl mindestens ein Dreifachsystem dar, dessen Hauptkomponente in der Spektralklasse B0,5 V bis B1 V eingeordnet wird. Die Einzelkomponenten des Systems wurden durch Spektroskopie und Speckle Interferometrie entdeckt und charakterisiert [1] [2].

Der heiße Stern liegt zentral in der Molekülwolke in einer Entfernung von ca. 1300 Lichtjahren von der Erde und hat M 43 durch seine Strahlung von innen heraus ausgehöhlt.

Obwohl der Name NU Orionis dazu verleitet, sollte man aufpassen, NU Orionis nicht mit ν Orionis (griech. Buchstabe ν = n = Ny, HD 41753, oft als Nu geschrieben ) zu verwechseln, der sich ebenfalls im Orion befindet, jedoch als veränderlicher Doppelstern viel weiter im Norden auf halber Strecke zwischen Beteigeuze und Tejat (HD 44478) in den Zwillingen liegt und nur etwa 520 Lichtjahre von der Erde entfernt ist.  

Entdeckt wurde der Nebel 1731 von Jean Jacques d’Ortous de Mairan [3] – daher rührt auch der Name De Mairans Nebel. Charles Messier gab ihm 1769 die Nummer 43 in seinem Katalog – daher der Name M 43 [4].

Auch M 43 stellt wie M 42 und der Pferdekopfnebel ein Sternentstehungsgebiet dar, das aktuell sehr intensiv erforscht wird, um Informationen über den Sternentstehungsprozess und die Ausbildung von Planetensystemen zu gewinnen.

Fukui et al. 2018 legten eine Theorie vor, nach der M 43 und der immerhin 10 mal so große Orionnebel M 42 zwei Gaswolken sind, die vor etwa 100 Millionen Jahren miteinander kollidiert sind (Cloud-Cloud-Collision). Dabei soll sich aufgrund der hohen Geschwindigkeit eine Stoßfront ausgebildet haben, die die extrem heißen Sterne der Spektralklasse O in M 42 erzeugt hat. Damit wären die gewaltigen Sterne im Trapez im Zentrum des Großen Orionnebels überhaupt erst durch den Zusammenstoß mit dem „kleinen Bruder“ M 43 entstanden. Abgeleitet wurde diese Theorie von den gemessenen Geschwindigkeiten der Gase innerhalb des Molekülwolkenkomplexes, die eine Modellierung der Kollision möglich macht [5].

Obwohl M 43 heute als durch die bandförmige Staubwolke optisch abgetrennter Teil von M 42 betrachtet wird, so hat dieser Nebel wohl doch einen anderen Ursprung und ist, trotz seiner viel kleineren Ausdehnung und seiner geringen Sterndichte der Grund für die Existenz dieser faszinierenden Emissionsnebel am Schwert des Orion. Es lohnt sich also, diese beiden Objekte immer mal wieder unter „die Lupe“ zu nehmen.


<– Zurück zum Übersichtsartikel Orion und seine Umgebung


Quellen:

[1] Speckle Interferometrie https://www.mpifr-bonn.mpg.de/251223/speckle

[2] S. Simón-Díaz, J. García-Rojas, C. Esteban, G. Stasińska, A. R., López-Sánchez und C. Morisset “A detailed study of the H II region M 43 and its ionizing star” in Astronomy & Astrophysics,  Volume 530, June 2011

[3] Jean Jacques d’Ortous de Mairan https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jean_Jacques_d%E2%80%99Ortous_de_Mairan

[4] Messier Katalog: https://archive.is/Rh9Y3

[5] Fukui et al. “A New Look at the Molecular Gas in M42 and M43: Possible Evidence for Cloud–Cloud Collision that Triggered Formation of the OB Stars in the Orion Nebula Cluster” in  The Astrophysical Journal, 859:166 (22pp), 2018 June 1