Home

The Orion constellation and surrounding

A joint contribution by Werner Wöhrmann, Dr. Gerold Holtkamp, Thomas Grunge and

Dr. Achim Tegeler, February 23, 2024


Inspired by our astro colleague Werner Wöhrmann, we want to gradually take a closer look at various interesting objects of different constellations, their individual aspects and their often overlooked peculiarities.


There are many impressively beautiful images of astronomical objects that can be found in the night sky. Thanks to the rapid development of digital photography and computer technology, these images are now also feasible for amateurs. In addition, the telescope technology, which is also necessary, is now available at reasonably affordable prices, so that the undoubtedly stunning images from the Hubble or the James Webb Space Telescope are not the only images worth taking a closer look at.

Because these pictures are not only beautiful, but also contain a lot of interesting information that is often not even discussed in magazines and websites. You see stars, you see colors, you see shapes and structures. But what exactly do you see?

A great deal has already been researched about astronomical objects. If you delve into good photos of such objects, such an astro image can become a real "novel" of the correspondingly depicted region of space. You get a deeper, more comprehensive view and a better understanding of why the objects on display look the way they do at this point in time and how they will develop. So a shot like this can become a journey through space and time if you get involved with it.

That's exactly what we want to do here – a journey to the constellation Orion.

For spatial orientation an overview photo of the region serves as an overview, and the individual, selectable objects are discussed in more detailed descriptive articles.


The Orion constellation

represents an asterism composed of six stars from six different constellations. It consists of the very bright stars Capella in the constellation Auriga, Aldebaran in Taurus, Rigel in Orion, Sirius in Canis Majoris, Procyon in Canis Minor and Pollux in Gemini – in the sky, these stars form a beautiful hexagon, in the middle of which Orion can be found.


The Winter Hexagon above Osnabrück (Infos on mouseover - Photo: Achim Tegeler)


The constellation Orion itself is made up of clearly visible, bright stars that make the "sky hunter", as the constellation is also called, easily recognizable.


Orion Beteigeuze Bellatrix Meissa Alnitak Alnilam Mintaka Saiph Rigel M42 - Orionnebel B33 - Pferdekopfnebel M43 - De Mairan Nebel

Overview of the constellation Orion (click on objects for more information – Photo: Thomas Grunge)


The shoulders of the sky hunter are formed by the stars Betelgeuse and Bellatrix. Betelgeuse is a very interesting red supergiant with about 700 to 1100 times the diameter of the Sun (the literature varies considerably), a luminosity between 7,500 and 14,000 times the luminosity of the Sun and a mass between 16.5 and 19 solar masses. [1]

Contrary to what one would expect, Betelgeuse is only about 10 million years old and consumes its fusion mass much faster than our Sun – the star will therefore reach its "end of life" much faster than our Sun. Presumably, Betelgeuse will explode in a supernova and end up in a neutron star or even a black hole. However, the currently available data do not suggest that this will happen in the next 100,000 years. Presumably, the supernova of Betelgeuse will not occur for another 1.5 million years. [2]

Bellatrix is not part of the Orion Association and is considerably closer to us at a distance of only 250 light-years. It is a bluish giant star belonging to the spectral class B2. [3]


The foot stars of Orion consist of Rigel and Saiph . Contrary to what the name Beta Orionis for Rigel suggests, Rigel is actually the brightest star in the constellation Orion, while Alpha Orionis (Betelgeuse) is only the second brightest. Rigel is a multiple system. The components A-B/C can already be seen as binary stars in small telescopes. Component A is a blue giant star belonging to the spectral class B8.


Striking and easily recognisable are the three belt forming stars Alnitak, Alnilam and Mintaka.

Alnitak is a multiple star system. Component A is a tight (spectroscopic) Double Star the nature of which was discovered only in 2000. [4]

The main component, the star Aa, is a blue supergiant of the class O9. Component B can be visually separated from A even in smaller telescopes.

Alnilam is also a blue supergiant of the spectral class B0. It is described as being about 1900 light-years away, which would be significantly farther away than Orion's other stars.

The western belt star Mintaka is a multiple system and belongs to the open star cluster Collinder 70, to which Alnitak also belongs. Like Alnilam, it is a blue giant star of class B0.


Here you can find further contributions concerning Orion objects:






Sources:

[1] [https://iopscience.iop.org/article/10.3847/1538-4357/abb8db/pdf]

[2] [https://science.nasa.gov/missions/hubble/what-is-betelgeuse-inside-the-strange-volatile-star/]

[3] Spectral classes https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stellar_classification

[4] Hummel, White et al. „ζ Orionis A is a Double Star“ in: The Astrophysical Journal, Volume 540, Number 2

Startseite

Der Orion und seine Umgebung

Ein Gemeinschaftsbeitrag von Werner Wöhrmann, Dr. Gerold Holtkamp, Thomas Grunge und

Dr. Achim Tegeler, 23.02.2024


Inspiriert durch unseren Astro-Kollegen Werner Wöhrmann, wollen wir nach und nach verschiedene interessante Objekte verschiedener Sternbilder in ihren einzelnen Aspekten näher beleuchten und uns ihre oft übersehenen Besonderheiten vor Augen führen.


Es gibt viele beeindruckend schöne Aufnahmen von astronomischen Objekten, die am nächtlichen Himmel zu finden sind. Dank der rasanten Entwicklung der Digitalfotografie und Computertechnik sind diese Aufnahmen nun auch für Amateure machbar. Hinzu kommt, dass die ebenfalls notwendige Teleskoptechnik mittlerweile zu halbwegs erschwinglichen Preisen zu haben ist, sodass die zweifellos umwerfenden Bilder des Hubble oder des James Webb Weltraumteleskops nicht die einzigen Bilder sind, die es genauer zu betrachten lohnt.

Denn diese Aufnahmen sind nicht einfach nur schön, sondern halten viele interessante Informationen bereit, auf die in Magazinen und Websites oft gar nicht eingegangen wird. Man sieht Sterne, man sieht Farben, man sieht Formen und Strukturen. Aber was genau sieht man da?

Sehr viel ist über astronomische Objekte bereits erforscht. Wenn man sich in gute Fotos solcher Objekte hineinvertieft, kann solch eine Astroaufnahme zu einem richtigen „Roman“ der entsprechend abgebildeten Region des Alls werden. Man bekommt einen tiefergehenden umfassenderen Blick und versteht besser, warum die gezeigten Objekte zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt so aussehen, wie sie aussehen und wie sie sich entwickeln werden. So eine Aufnahme kann also zu einer Reise durch Raum und Zeit werden, wenn man sich drauf einlässt.

Genau das wollen wir hier tun – eine Reise in das Sternbild Orion.

Zur räumlichen Einordnung dient ein Überblicksfoto der Region als Übersicht, und die einzelnen, auswählbaren Objekte werden in genauer beschreibenden Artikeln besprochen.


Das Sternbild Orion


In dieser Reihe stellen wir Objekte vor, die im Sternbild Orion zu sehen sind. Es ist ein Sternbild des Winterhimmels und Teil des Wintersechsecks. Das Wintersechseck stellt einen Asterismus dar, der sich aus sechs Sternen sechs unterschiedlicher Sternbilder zusammensetzt. Er besteht aus den sehr hellen Sternen Capella im Sternbild Fuhrmann, Aldebaran im Stier, Rigel im Orion, Sirius im Großen Hund, Prokyon im Kleinen Hund und Pollux in den Zwillingen – am Himmel bilden diese Sterne ein schönes Sechseck, in dessen Mitte der Orion zu finden ist.


Das Wintersechseck über Osnabrück (bei Mouseover Beschriftung – Photo: Achim Tegeler)


Das Sternbild Orion selbst setzt sich aus gut sichtbaren, hellen Sternen zusammen, die den „Himmelsjäger“, wie das Sternbild auch genannt wird, gut erkennbar machen.


Orion Beteigeuze Bellatrix Meissa Alnitak Alnilam Mintaka Saiph Rigel M42 - Orionnebel B33 - Pferdekopfnebel M43 - De Mairan Nebel

Überblick über das Sternbild Orion (für mehr Infos Objekte anklicken – Photo: Thomas Grunge)


Die Schultern des Himmelsjägers bilden die Sterne Beteigeuze und Bellatrix. Beteigeuze ist ein sehr interessanter roter Überriese mit ca. 700- bis 1100-fachem Sonnendurchmesser (die Literaturangaben schwanken hier deutlich), einer Leuchtkraft zwischen dem 7.500- und 14.000-fachen der Leuchtkraft der Sonne und einer Masse zwischen 16,5 und 19 Sonnenmassen. [1]

Anders als man erwarten würde, ist Beteigeuze nur ca. 10 Millionen Jahre alt und verbraucht seine Fusionsmasse sehr viel schneller als unsere Sonne – der Stern wird daher auch sehr viel schneller sein „Lebensende“ erreichen als unsere Sonne. Sehr wahrscheinlich wird Beteigeuze in einer Supernova explodieren und in einem Neutronenstern oder sogar in einem schwarzes Loch enden. Die aktuell verfügbaren Daten lassen das aber in den nächsten 100.000 Jahren nicht erwarten. Vermutlich wird es erst in 1,5 Mio. Jahren zur Supernova von Beteigeuze kommen. [2]

Bellatrix gehört nicht zur Orion-Assoziation und ist uns mit nur 250 Lichtjahren Entfernung erheblich näher. Er ist ein bläulicher Riesenstern der Spektralklasse B2. [3]


Die Fußsterne des Orion bilden Rigel und Saiph . Anders als die Bezeichnung Beta Orionis für Rigel vermuten lässt, ist Rigel tatsächlich der hellste Stern im Sternbild Orion, während Alpha Orionis (Beteigeuze) nur der zweithellste ist. Rigel ist ein Mehrfachsystem. Die Komponenten A-B/C sind schon in kleinen Teleskopen als Doppelstern zu erkennen. Die Komponente A ist ein blauer Riesenstern der Spektralklasse B8.


Markant und gut erkennbar sind die drei in einer Linie liegenden Gürtelsterne Alnitak, Alnilam und Mintaka.

Alnitak ist ein Mehrfachsystem. Die A Komponente ist ein enger (spektroskopisch nachweisbarer) Doppelstern, dessen Natur erst im Jahre 2000 entdeckt wurde. [4]

Die Hauptkomponente, der Stern Aa, ist ein blauer Überriese der Klasse O9. Die Komponente B ist von A schon in kleineren Teleskopen visuell zu trennen.

Alnilam ist ebenfalls ein blauer Überriese der Spektralklasse B0. Er wird mit einer Entfernung von um die 1900 Lichtjahre beschrieben und wäre damit deutlich weiter entfernt als die anderen Sterne des Orion.

Der rechte Gürtelstern Mintaka stellt ein Mehrfachsystem dar und gehört zum offenen Sternhaufen Collinder 70, zu dem auch Alnitak gehört. Er ist wie Alnilam ein blauer Riesenstern der Klasse B0.


Hier weiterführende Beiträge zum Orion:






Quellen:

[1] [https://iopscience.iop.org/article/10.3847/1538-4357/abb8db/pdf]

[2] [https://science.nasa.gov/missions/hubble/what-is-betelgeuse-inside-the-strange-volatile-star/]

[3] Spektralklassen: https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spektralklasse

[4] Hummel, White et al. „ζ Orionis A is a Double Star“ in: The Astrophysical Journal, Volume 540, Number 2