Home

The Orion Nebula – M42

A joint contribution by Werner Wöhrmann, Dr. Gerold Holtkamp, Thomas Grunge and

Dr. Achim Tegeler, February 23, 2024


The Orion Nebula or M42 (also NGC 1976) is probably one of the most striking and thus also well-known objects in the night winter sky. It was first discovered at the beginning of the 17th century by Nicolas Claude Fabri de Peiresc in 1610 and described in his records in 1611 [1]. Galileo Galilei also pointed his telescope at the Orion Nebula and was the first to describe the star arrangement of the Trapezium. He mentioned three Trapezoid stars, but not the nebula.

Christiaan Huygens published the first drawing of the Orion Nebula in 1659. It was not until 1769 that Charles Messier added the Orion Nebula with the number 42 to his catalog that was published 1771 [2]. [2].

Henry Draper took the first photo of the nebula on his photographic plates in 1880 [3].

In the middle of the 19th century, spectroscopic investigations revealed the gaseous nature of the nebula [4]. Hydrogen had the largest share. The composition of the nebula is now well known; in addition to hydrogen and oxygen, helium makes up 10% and other elements are present in trace amounts [5].



M42 is an emission nebula, meaning it emits light itself. It is located in the so-called Orion Arm of our Milky Way. This is the name given to the spiral arm of our spiral galaxy, in which we and our sun also lie. The Orion Nebula can be seen with the naked eye south of the belt stars of the constellation Orion. It is part of the Orion molecular cloud complex, a collection of many objects distributed throughout the constellation. All of these objects are not only apparently adjacent but also physically adjacent by astronomical standards.

The distance of M42 is now given as 1,350 light years at an extent of 24 light years.

The hydrogen in the nebula is excited to glow by the star Theta 1 Orionis C (HD 37022), a member of the open cluster Trapezium- especially in the wavelength around 656 nm, the H-alpha line of hydrogen. Within this open star cluster are the four brightest stars (A-D), which visually form the trapezoid shape (from the geometrical point of view a trapezoid always shows two parallel sides, which is not the case here) and can be seen with small telescopes; With the naked eye, the trapezoid is only perceived as a single star. However, these four stars are each multiple systems made up of up to six individual stars, so that the cluster represents a complex structure made up of stars, some of which are huge giants with up to 45 solar masses. [6].


The Trapezium (with the stars Theta Orionis A-E) at the center of the Orion Nebula – Photo: Werner Wöhrmann


The above-mentioned brightest star of the Trapezium, Theta 1 Orionis C, has 34 solar masses, belongs to the spectral class O7, has a surface temperature of over 45,500 K and a luminosity of 250,000 suns. It emits a stellar wind of extremely hot plasma that travels at over 1,000 km/s, exciting the surrounding hydrogen and also producing X-rays - a blue giant on the main sequence of the Hertzsprung Russel diagram [7] and therefore a real representative of superlatives [8].

The Trapezium Cluster is a subgroup of the Large Orion Nebula Cluster and currently contains approximately 3,500 stars less than 3 million years old. By astronomical standards, these stars are still very young. In fact, new stars are still constantly being formed there from the material from the Orion Nebula. The Orion Nebula is therefore considered one of the most active star-forming regions in the immediate vicinity of our solar system. Investigations in 2001 were able to detect a large number of brown dwarfs and objects with planetary masses down to 3 Jupiter masses [9] [10].


<-- Back to the Orion overview article


Sources:

[1] Guillaume Bigourdan: La decouverte de la nebuleuse d’Orion par Peiresc. In: Comptes rendus de l’Académie des Sciences. Band 162, 1916, S. 489–490

[2] Messier Catalogue https://archive.is/Rh9Y3

[3] https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Orion_1880.jpg

[4] https://royalsocietypublishing.org/doi/pdf/10.1098/rspl.1865.0011

[5] https://arxiv.org/pdf/astro-ph/0408249v1.pdf

[6] S. Simón-Díaz et al.: Detailed spectroscopic analysis of the Trapezium cluster stars inside the Orion nebula. 2006, doi:10.1051/0004-6361:20053066

[7] Hertzsprung-Russel-Diagram https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HertzsprungRussell_diagram

[8] https://www.mpia.de/news/wissenschaft/2007-10-orion-nebel

[9] https://www.eso.org/public/news/eso0124/#3

[10] https://arxiv.org/pdf/2004.13915.pdf

Startseite

Der Orionnebel – M42

Ein Gemeinschaftsbeitrag von Werner Wöhrmann, Dr. Gerold Holtkamp, Thomas Grunge und

Dr. Achim Tegeler, 23.02.2024


Der Orionnebel oder M42 (auch NGC 1976) ist wohl eines der markantesten und damit auch bekanntesten Objekte am nächtlichen Winterhimmel. Er wurde bereits zu Beginn des 17. Jhdts. erstmals 1610 von Nicolas Claude Fabri de Peiresc entdeckt und 1611 in seinen Aufzeichnungen beschrieben [1]. Auch Galileo Galilei richtete sein Teleskop auf den Orionnebel und beschrieb als erster die Sternanordnung des Trapez‘. Er erwähnte drei Trapezsterne, nicht aber den Nebel.

Christiaan Huygens veröffentlichte 1659 eine erste Zeichnung vom Orionnebel. Erst 1769 fügte Charles Messier den Orionnebel mit der Nummer 42 in seinen Katalog ein, den er dann 1771 veröffentlichte [2].

Henry Draper machte 1880 das erste Foto vom Nebel auf seinen Fotoplatten [3].

Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts konnte durch spektroskopische Untersuchungen die gasartige Natur des Nebels erkannt werden [4]. Den größten Anteil hatte Wasserstoff. Inzwischen ist die Zusammensetzung des Nebels gut bekannt, neben Wasserstoff und Sauerstoff ist Helium mit 10% und weitere Elemente in Spuren vertreten [5].


Der Orionnebel M42 Photo: Gerold Holtkamp


M42 ist ein Emissionsnebel, d.h. er strahlt selbst Licht ab. Er befindet sich im sogenannten Orionarm unserer Milchstraße. So wird der Spiralarm unserer spiralförmigen Galaxis bezeichnet, in dem auch wir mit unserer Sonne liegen. Der Orionnebel ist südlich der Gürtelsterne des Sternbilds Orion mit bloßem Auge zu sehen. Er ist ein Teil des Orion-Molekülwolkenkomplexes, einer Ansammlung vieler Objekte, die über das gesamte Sternbild verteilt sind. All diese Objekte sind nicht nur anscheinend sondern auch physikalisch nach astronomischen Maßstäben benachbart.

Die Entfernung von M42 wird heute mit 1.350 Lichtjahren bei einer Ausdehnung von 24 Lichtjahren angegeben.

Der Wasserstoff im Nebel wird vom Stern Theta 1 Orionis C (HD 37022), Mitglied des offenen Sternhaufens Trapez, zum Leuchten angeregt – vor allem in der Wellenlänge um 656 nm – der H-alpha Linie des Wasserstoffs. Innerhalb dieses offenen Sternhaufens, liegen die vier hellsten Sterne (A-D), die visuell die Trapezform (tatsächlich hat ein Trapez aus geometrischer Sicht immer zwei parallele Seiten, das ist hier nicht der Fall) ausmachen und schon mit kleinen Teleskopen zu sehen sind; mit bloßem Auge wird das Trapez nur als ein einziger Stern wahrgenommen. Diese vier Sterne sind jedoch wiederum jeweils Mehrfachsysteme aus bis zu sechs Einzelsternen, sodass der Haufen ein komplexes Gebilde aus Sternen darstellt, die zum Teil gewaltige Riesen mit bis zu 45 Sonnenmassen sind [6].


Das Trapez (mit den Sternen Theta Orionis A-E) im Zentrum des Orionnebels – Photo: Werner Wöhrmann


Der o.g. hellste Stern des Trapez‘, Theta 1 Orionis C, hat 34 Sonnenmassen, gehört zur Spektralklasse O7, hat eine Oberflächentemperatur von über 45.500 K und eine Leuchtkraft von 250.000 Sonnen. Er strahlt einen Sternwind aus extrem heißem Plasma ab, das sich mit über 1.000 km/s fortbewegt und dabei den umgebenden Wasserstoff anregt und dazu auch Röntgenstrahlung erzeugt – ein Blauer Riese auf der Hauptreihe des Hertzsprung Russel Diagramms [7] und damit echter Vertreter der Superlativen [8].

Der Trapezhaufen ist eine Untergruppe des großen Orionnebelhaufens und enthält gegenwärtig ca. 3.500 Sterne mit einem Alter von weniger als 3 Millionen Jahren. Nach astronomischem Maßstab sind diese Sterne somit noch sehr jung. Tatsächlich entstehen dort aus dem Material des Orionnebels immer noch ständig neue Sterne. Der Orionnebel gilt daher als eines der aktivsten Sternentstehungsgebiete in der näheren Umgebung unseres Sonnensystems. Untersuchungen im Jahr 2001 konnten hier eine Vielzahl Brauner Zwerge und Objekte planetarer Masse bis hinab von 3 Jupitermassen aufspüren [9] [10].


<– Zurück zum Übersichtsartikel Orion und seine Umgebung


Quellen:

[1] Guillaume Bigourdan: La decouverte de la nebuleuse d’Orion par Peiresc. In: Comptes rendus de l’Académie des Sciences. Band 162, 1916, S. 489–490

[2] Messier Katalog: https://archive.is/Rh9Y3

[3] https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Orion_1880.jpg

[4] https://royalsocietypublishing.org/doi/pdf/10.1098/rspl.1865.0011

[5] https://arxiv.org/pdf/astro-ph/0408249v1.pdf

[6] S. Simón-Díaz et al.: Detailed spectroscopic analysis of the Trapezium cluster stars inside the Orion nebula. 2006, doi:10.1051/0004-6361:20053066

[7] Hertzsprung-Russel-Diagramm: https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hertzsprung-Russell-Diagramm

[8] https://www.mpia.de/news/wissenschaft/2007-10-orion-nebel

[9] https://www.eso.org/public/news/eso0124/#3

[10] https://arxiv.org/pdf/2004.13915.pdf