Home

Deep sky objects


Stars, moon and planets can be easily seen in the sky even with an unarmed eye and radiate their own fascination. However, objects that are very far away and thus appear particularly faint, or objects that radiate in wavelengths that are only very faintly perceptible to the human eye, can only be observed if a correspondingly large aperture is used so that as many of the emitted photons as possible can be collected. Since more and more interfering photons (light pollution) are captured with a large aperture, filters must therefore be used that allow the desired wavelengths to pass through and attenuate the interfering ones. In addition, cameras are used which, unlike the human eye, also detect wavelengths that make the recognition of corresponding structures possible in the first place (e.g. H-alpha light at approx. 656.3nm). Thanks to these technical aids, very distant or very faint structures such as other galaxies, Quasars or clouds of matter and the exploration of the "cosmic depths" becomes possible – that’s what we call deep sky ...

Reports on such deep sky objects are presented here.


  • T Coronae Borealis – The Nova in the future
    A star in the constellation Northern Crown is described, for which a drastic increase in brightness is expected this year 2024. The historical events of this nova are discussed, but above all the current state of knowledge about this star, which lights up regularly about every 80 years.
  • De Mairan's Nebula - M 43
    The De Mairan Nebula, which is directly adjacent to the Great Orion Nebula, is often not mentioned at all when observing the entire region around the constellation Orion. But it may be the cause of the spectacularly glowing HII regions on the Sword of Orion.
  • The Horsehead Nebula in Orion - B33
    The closest active star-forming region to Earth is in the constellation Orion in the so-called Horsehead Nebula. Over the past two decades, a great deal of research has been done to understand its structural structure and the mechanisms at work within it.
  • The Orion Nebula – M42
    The Orion Nebula or M42 is probably one of the most striking and therefore well-known deep sky objects in the nighttime winter sky.
  • The Cirrus Nebula in Swan
    An image of the Cirrus Nebula with a total exposure time of over four hours is presented. The location of the recording was in the urban area of ​​Osnabrück, which was badly affected by artificial lighting. Nevertheless, the fine structures of this object could be imaged.
  • Whirlpool galaxy (M51)
    The image shown is composed of several images from different projects: variable measurement, exoplanet measurement, etc. in the period from 2015 to 2020
  • Inside and outside our Milky Way
    Color images with the mono camera QHY268M are shown. For this purpose, Fab filters are also used. The particular challenge was that one object stood above the bright city center of Osnabrück and the other object was very disturbed by the moon with 70% illuminated area.
  • Impressions of the WHAT 2022
    Over the Westhavelland Star Park you can find obne of the darkest skies in Germany. This reputation was confirmed again this year at the 11th Westhavelländer Astrotreff (26th to 30th August 2022). At this meeting, astronomers from all over Germany come together to observe and exchange ideas together. Our own impressions at this meeting are presented here.
  • Objects of the southern sky
    In Namibia, far away from civilization and thus all artificial lights, there is the Astro-Farm Rooisand. Here, from May 26th to June 1st 2022 many photos of objects of the southern sky were taken. A selection is presented.
  • The Nova V1405 CAS in Cassiopeia
    The observation of the Nova V1405 CAS is described. Brightness measurements were carried out over a longer period of time, from April 1st, 2021 to May 15th, 2022. Together with measurements from other international authors, an atypical behavior for a nova was demonstrated.

Startseite

Deep Sky Objekte


Sterne, Mond und Planeten lassen sich schon mit unbewaffnetem Auge gut am Himmel erkennen und strahlen eine eigene Faszination aus. Objekte aber, die sehr weit weg liegen und damit besonders lichtschwach erscheinen, oder Objekte, die in Wellenlängen strahlen, die für das menschliche Auge nur sehr schwach wahrnehmbar sind, können nur beobachtet werden, wenn mit entsprechend großer Öffnung gearbeitet wird, sodass möglichst viele der abgestrahlten Photonen gesammelt werden können. Da mit großer Öffnung immer auch mehr störende Photonen (Lichtverschmutzung) eingefangen werden, müssen daher Filter zum Einsatz kommen, die die gewünschten Wellenlängen durchlassen und die störenden abschwächen. Außerdem werden Kameras verwendet, die, anders als das menschliche Auge, auch solche Wellenlängen erfassen, die das Erkennen von entsprechenden Strukturen erst möglich machen (z.B. H-Alpha Licht bei ca. 656,3nm). Durch diese technischen Hilfsmittel sind sehr weit entfernte oder sehr schwach leuchtende Strukturen wie andere Galaxien, Quasare oder Materiewolken sichtbar und die Erforschung der „kosmischen Tiefen“ wird möglich – Deep Sky eben…

Hier werden Berichte zu solchen Deep Sky Objekten präsentiert.


  • Der Orionnebel – M42
    Der Orionnebel oder M42 ist wohl eines der markantesten und damit auch bekanntesten Objekte am nächtlichen Winterhimmel.
  • Der Cirrus-Nebel im Schwan
    Eine Aufnahme des Cirrus-Nebels mit über vier Stunden Gesamtbelichtungszeit wird vorgestellt. Der Aufnahmeort lag im stark von künstlicher Beleuchtung beeinträchtigtem Stadtgebiet von Osnabrück. Trotzdem konnten die feinen Strukturen dieses Objekts abgebildet werden.
  • Whirlpool-Galaxie (M51)
    Die gezeigte Aufnahme setzt sich aus mehreren Bildern aus verschiedenen Projekten zusammen: Variablenmessung, Exoplanetenmessung, etc. im Zeitraum von 2015 bis 2020
  • Innerhalb und außerhalb unserer Milchstraße
    Farbaufnahmen mit der MonoKamera QHY268M werden gezeigt. Hierfür kommen zusätzlich Fabfilter zum EInsatz. Die besondere Herausforderung war, dass das eine Objekt über der helle Innenstadt von Osnabrück stand und beim anderen Objekt der Mond mit 70% beleuchteter Fläche sehr störte.
  • Aufnahmen aus dem Westhavelland
    Über dem Sternenpark Westhavelland soll sich einer der dunkelsten Himmel Deutschlands wölben. Diesem Ruf ist er auch in diesem Jahr beim 11. Westhavelländer Astrotreff (26. bis 30.8.2022)  gerecht geworden. Bei diesem Treffen kommen Astronomen aus ganz Deutschland zusammen, um gemeinsam zu beobachten und sich auszutauschen. Es werden eigene Aufnahmen vorgestellt, die bei diesem Treffen entstanden sind.
  • Objekte des südlichen Sternenhimmels
    In Namibia, fernab von der Zivilisation und damit allen künstlichen Lichtern, gibt es die Astro-Farm Rooisand. Hier wurden vom 26. Mai bis zum 1. Juni 2022 viele Aufnahmen von Objekten des südlichen Himmels gemacht. Eine Auswahl wird vorgestellt.
  • Die Nova V1405 CAS in der Cassiopeia
    Die Beobachtung der Nova V1405 CAS wird beschrieben. Über einen längeren Zeitraum, vom 1.4.2021 bis zum 15.5.2022, wurden Messungen der Helligkeit durchgeführt. Zusammen mit Messungen anderer internationaler Autoren konnte ein für eine Nova untypischer Verlauf nachgewiesen werden.