Home

The Cirrus Nebula in Swan

Dr. Gerold Holtkamp, 27.8.2023


On WHAT 2023 (Westhavelländer Astrotreffen) we of kosmos-os were pretty unlucky with the weather. It was sufficiently clear just on two out of seven nights. One of these was the last night of August 20/21, 2023. It could have been a good night of observation. But the autoguiding (fine tracking) could not be stably connected to the mount. The reason …. unknown until today.


Of course I was “ambitious”. The night of August 22/23, 2023 should remain clear again, but in Osnabrück. The observation setup was the same as on WHAT, and…. everything worked fine all night. This resulted in a total exposure time of over four hours.


The Cirrus Nebula is an emission and reflection nebula in the constellation Cygnus. The captured area is around NGC 6960 with adjacent star 52 Cygni and NGC 6979. In this star-studded area, this multicolored structure is a very appealing object. The Cirrus Nebula is about 2400 light-years from Earth. These structures are remnants of a supernova that took place about 8000 years ago. However, the data in the literature vary greatly.



More information about the Cirrus Nebula:

https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cirrusnebel

https://www.astronomie.de/beobachtungspraxis/deep-sky/deep-sky-objekte/der-cirrusnebel

Startseite

Der Cirrus-Nebel im Schwan

Gerold Holtkamp, 27.8.2023


Beim WHAT 2023 (Westhavelländer Astrotreffen) hatten wir von kosmos-os ziemliches Pech mit dem Wetter. Lediglich in zwei von sieben Nächte war es ausreichend klar gewesen. So auch in der letzten Nacht vom 20./21.8.2023. Es hätte eine gute Beobachtungsnacht werden können. Aber das Autoguiding (Feinnachführung) konnte nicht stabil mit der Montierung verbunden werden. Der Grund …. bis heute unbekannt.


Natürlich hatte mich der „Ehrgeiz gepackt“. Die Nacht 22./23.8.2023 sollte wieder klar bleiben, allerdings in Osnabrück. Der Beobachtungsaufbau war der gleiche wie beim WHAT, und …. Es funktionierte alles problemlos die gesamte Nacht. So kamen über vier Stunden Gesamtbelichtungszeit zusammen.


Der Cirrus-Nebel ist ein Emissions- und Reflexionsnebel im Sternbild Schwan. Aufgenommen wurde der Bereich NGC 6960 mit dem danebenliegende Stern 52 Cygni und NGC 6979. Im diesem sternenübersäten Bereich ist diese mehrfarbige Struktur ein sehr ansprechendes Objekt. Der Cirrus-nebel ist etwas 2400 Lichtjahre von der Erde entfernt. Es handelt sich um Überreste einer Supernova, die vor ca. 8000 Jahren stattfand. Die Angaben in der Literatur schwanken allerdings sehr stark.



Mehr Infos zum Cirrus-Nebel:

https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cirrusnebel

https://www.astronomie.de/beobachtungspraxis/deep-sky/deep-sky-objekte/der-cirrusnebel