Home

The Horsehead Nebula in Orion - B33

A contribution by Werner Wöhrmann und Dr. Gerold Holtkamp March 22, 2024


The closest active star-forming region to Earth is located in the constellation Orion in the so-called Horsehead Nebula. Over the past two decades, a great deal of research has been done to understand its structure and the mechanisms at work within it.


The Horsehead Nebula in the Orion constellation is probably one of the most famous objects in the sky among astronomers. From our perspective, the relatively dark structure is clearly visible in front of the luminous H II region IC434, which runs north-south near the Orion belt star Alnitak. However, it is also physically part of IC434.



The first known mention of the distinctive, glowing area comes from Wilhelm Herschel. He gave it the name Object No. 25 in 1811. The Horsehead Nebula itself was first identified on a photographic plate by Williamina Paton Stevens Fleming in 1888 [1]. It soon became clear that this was not an area without stars, but a real object made of dust and gas. That is why the Horsehead Nebula has been designated B33 in Barnard's catalog since 1919 [2].


This accumulation of interstellar gas is not only interesting because of its appearance, which happens to be so striking for us on Earth. In fact, over the last two decades, thanks to improved technical capabilities, a lot of research has been devoted to exploring the processes and structure of this object.


B33 is the closest of the known photodissociation regions* to Earth. In these areas, neutral gas (mostly hydrogen) and dust are compressed by radiation from a gas cloud that is itself ionized by UV radiation from massive young stars. This often creates dense columnar structures, sometimes referred to as elephant trunks because of their appearance. Whether shock fronts, which arise when the gas in the H II region hits the surrounding gas, also play a role here is still under discussion. Magnetic fields also play a role within the structure [3].


The star Sigma Orionis is considered to be the powerful UV source that ionizes the gas cloud IC434. It is a massive, radiation-intensive class OB star that belongs to a multiple system. Its distance from us is given as 1265 +/- 4.3 light years, while the distance from B33 to us on Earth is said to be around 1300 light years. This is thought to be close enough to trigger the formation of young stars. The total mass of the Horsehead Nebula is about 27 solar masses [3] [4].


Since 1984, young stars have been searched for in the Horsehead Nebula. To do this, one observes in the infrared spectral range, which allows one to penetrate much deeper into areas hidden from optical observation. Several strong infrared sources have been found, which may be young stars in the process of formation [3]. Both the EUCLID space telescope and the James Webb telescope, which operates in the infrared, will bring many exciting insights into the exploration of this star formation region in the Horsehead Nebula [5] [6].


* Photodissociation or photolysis is the splitting of molecules by high-energy radiation such as UV light. The intense, high-energy radiation and the stellar wind of a star - young massive stars are particularly relevant here - affect the surrounding interstellar medium, consisting largely of HII, and, in addition to photodissociation, also cause structure formation.


<-- Back to the Orion overview article


Sources:

[1] Edward Charles Pickering „Detection of new nebulae by photography“ in

Annals of the Astronomical Observatory of Harvard College ; v. 18, no. 6, Cambridge : J. Wilson and Son, 1890., p. 113-117 

[2] Pound, M. W., Reipurth, B. & Bally, J., The Astronomical Journal, 125:2108 (15pp), 2003 April

[3] Jihye Hwang, Kate Pattle, Harriet Parsons, Mallory Go & Jongsoo Kim, The Astronomical Journal, 165:198 (11pp), 2023 May

[4] Brendan P. Bowler, William H. Waller, S. Thomas Megeath, Brian M. Patten & Motohide Tamura, The Astronomical Journal, 137:3685 (30pp), 2009 March

[5]https://www.esa.int/Science_Exploration/Space_Science/Euclid/Euclid_s_view_of_the_Horsehead_Nebula

[6] https://webbtelescope.org/home

Startseite

Der Pferdekopfnebel im Orion – B33

Ein Beitrag von Werner Wöhrmann und Dr. Gerold Holtkamp 22.03.2024


Das der Erde am nächsten gelegene aktive Sternentstehungsgebiet liegt im Sternbild Orion im sog. Pferdekopfnebel. In den vergangenen zwei Jahrzehnten ist sehr viel Forschungsarbeit aufgewandt worden, um seinen strukturellen Aufbau und die in ihm wirkenden Mechanismen zu ergünden.


Der Pferdekopfnebel im Sternbild Orion ist unter Astronomen wohl eines der bekanntesten Objekte am Himmel. Die relativ dunkle Struktur befindet sich von uns aus gesehen gut sichtbar vor der leuchtenden H II-Region IC434, die in der Nähe des Orion Gürtelsterns Alnitak in Nord-Süd-Richtung verläuft. Er ist allerdings auch physikalisch ein Teil von IC434.


Der Pferdekopfnebel im Orion (Photo: Olaf Homeier)
Der helle Stern am oberen rechten Rand ist Sigma Orionis. Der helle Stern links von der Mitte ist der linke Gürtelstern Alnitak. Unterhalb davon befindet sich NGC2024, der sog. Flammennebel.


Die erste bekannte Erwähnung des markanten, leuchtenden Bereichs stammt von Wilhelm Herschel. Er gab ihm 1811 die Bezeichnung Objekt Nr. 25. Der Pferdekopfnebel selbst wurde zum ersten Mal von Williamina Paton Stevens Fleming 1888 auf einer Fotoplatte identifiziert [1]. Es wurde damals schon bald klar, dass es sich nicht um einen Bereich ohne Sterne, sondern um ein reales Objekt aus Staub und Gas handelt. Deshalb trägt der Pferdekopfnebel seit 1919 in Barnards Katalog die Bezeichnung B33 [2].


Diese Ansammlung interstellaren Gases ist aber nicht nur wegen seines zufällig für uns auf der Erde so markanten Erscheinungsbildes interessant. Tatsächlich wurde in den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten dank verbesserter technischer Möglichkeiten viel Forschungsarbeit darauf verwendet, die Vorgänge und den Aufbau dieser Struktur zu erkunden.


B33 ist von den bekannten Photodissoziationsregionen* der Erde am nächsten. In diesen Bereichen werden neutrales Gas (meist Wasserstoff) und Staub durch Strahlung einer ihrerseits durch UV-Strahlung massiver junger Sterne ionisierten Gaswolke zusammengedrückt. Hierbei entstehen oft dichte säulenartige Strukturen, die manchmal wegen ihres Aussehens als Elefantenrüssel bezeichnet werden. Ob hier auch Stoßfronten eine Rolle spielen, die bei dem Auftreffen des Gases der H II Region auf das umliegende Gas entstehen, ist nach wie vor in der Diskussion. Außerdem spielen Magnetfelder innerhalb der Struktur eine Rolle [3].


Der Stern Sigma Orionis wird als die starke UV-Quelle angesehen, die die Gaswolke IC434 ionisiert. Es handelt sich um einen massereichen, strahlungsintensiven Stern der Klasse OB, der einem Mehrfachsystem angehört. Sein Abstand zu uns wird mit 1265 +/- 4,3 Lichtjahren angegeben, während der Abstand von B33 zu uns auf der Erde etwa 1300 Lichtjahre betragen soll. Das wird als ausreichend nah zueinander angenommen, um die Entstehung junger Sterne auszulösen. Die gesamte Masse des Pferdekopfnebels beträgt etwa 27 Sonnenmassen [3] [4].


Seit 1984 wird im Pferdekopfnebel nach jungen Sternen gesucht. Hierfür beobachtet man im infraroten Spektralbereich, wodurch man viel tiefer in die der optischen Beobachtung verborgenen Bereiche eindringen kann. Es wurden verschiedene starke Infrarotquellen gefunden, die junge, in der Entstehung befindliche Sterne sein können [3]. Sowohl das Weltraum Teleskop EUCLID als auch das  im Infraroten arbeitende James Webb Teleskop werden bei der Erforschung dieses Sternentstehungsgebietes im Pferdekopfnebel noch viele spannende Erkenntnisse bringen [5] [6].


* Photodissoziation oder auch Photolyse ist die Aufspaltung von Molekülen durch energiereiche Strahlung wie z. B. UV-Licht. Die intensive energiereiche Strahlung und der Sternenwind eines Sterns – hier sind besonders junge massereiche Sterne relevant – wirken auf das umgebende interstellare Medium, bestehend zum großen Teil aus HII, ein und bewirken neben der Photodissoziation auch die Strukturbildung.


<– Zurück zum Übersichtsartikel Orion und seine Umgebung


Quellen:

[1] Edward Charles Pickering „Detection of new nebulae by photography“ in

Annals of the Astronomical Observatory of Harvard College ; v. 18, no. 6, Cambridge : J. Wilson and Son, 1890., p. 113-117 

[2] Pound, M. W., Reipurth, B. & Bally, J., The Astronomical Journal, 125:2108 (15pp), 2003 April

[3] Jihye Hwang, Kate Pattle, Harriet Parsons, Mallory Go & Jongsoo Kim, The Astronomical Journal, 165:198 (11pp), 2023 May

[4] Brendan P. Bowler, William H. Waller, S. Thomas Megeath, Brian M. Patten & Motohide Tamura, The Astronomical Journal, 137:3685 (30pp), 2009 March

[5]https://www.esa.int/Science_Exploration/Space_Science/Euclid/Euclid_s_view_of_the_Horsehead_Nebula

[6] https://webbtelescope.org/home