Home

"Just" discovered - Exoplanet TOI-1259 A b

Dr. Gerold Holtkamp, 2022.12.22


The transit light curve of the exoplanet TOI-1259 A b, discovered just two years ago, was measured. The data determined agree well with literature values. It is a double star system, which is additionally interesting. The close position at the north celestial pole allows interesting further observations of TOI-1259 A b . The data determined agree well with literature values. It is a double star system, which is a special feature. The close position at the north celestial pole allows interesting further observations.


Admittedly, the name isn't particularly spectacular and doesn't stimulate the imagination either. But the fact that this alien planet was discovered just two years ago in 2020, although it orbits the star TOI-1259 A at a distance of not more than 385 light-years from us, is remarkable. But the volume of space and thus the number of stars increase enormously with distance. A lot of undiscovered things can be hidden there. Even if we amateurs cannot be the discoverers, it is still very attractive for us to be able to follow such a planet discovery so close behind the professionals - with our own device, from a garden near the city - unthinkable 30 years ago. If you can prove it yourself and it's not just reeding it in leterature, that's a different quality of experiencing astronomy.


The Observation Object

The exoplanet TOI-1259 A b was not discovered until 2021. This is the release date. The actual discovery was probably made in 2019. The parent star TOI-1259 A is a star with a radius 0.71 times and a mass 0.68 times of our Sun and a surface temperature of 4800 K, which appears 12.1 mag bright to us on Earth. The exoplanet TOI-1259 A b is a so-called hot Jupiter, i.e. it has 0.44 times Jupiter's mass and 1.02 times its diameter. The surface temperature of 963 K determines its name. It orbits its parent star in an amazing 3.48 days at a distance of just 6 million km (major axis). It produces an obscuration of 29 mmag on its transit. There is a stellar companion, TOI-1259 B, which is gravitationally bound to the main star at about 1600 AU (0.025 LY). It appears to us at about 19 mag [1] [2].


The system is very interesting as an observation object:

  • Until a few years ago, it was not thought possible for an exoplanet to have a stable orbit in a binary star system.
  • For amateur devices, the parent star has sufficient brightness and high transit obscuration.
  • The brightness of the parent star makes the system a possible candidate for studies of the planetary atmosphere with space telescopes such as Hubble or James Webb.
  • And finally, the circumpolar position in the constellation Draco is of great advantage because it allows year-round observation.


Extract from the planetarium software Stellarium


The Measurement

The data predicting the transit of TOI 1259 A b in front of its parent star were taken from the Swarthmore College Transitfinder database [4].


Screenshot from Transit Finder


A look at the sky in the late afternoon of December 14, 2022 and the weather forecast also promised that it would be a clear night. However, temperatures of -9° Celsius should be reached. In addition, there was a lot of moisture in the air. So it was a matter of preparing yourself and the equipment for it. Warm clothing and a lens heater for the Guidescope were a must. During the course of the measurements (> 4 hours), the telescope and the mount were very heavily covered with hoarfrost, but the camera, guide scope and, above all, the main and secondary mirrors of the telescope remained fog-free during operation. The moon rose at 21:20 UTC and was 70% illuminated but 83° from the observed object.


The equipment in the morning. A similar picture presented itself at night.


The equipment used was:

  • Teleskop: Newton, 250 mm Öffnung, 1200 mm Brennweite [5]
  • Mount: AZ-EQ6 GT Pro
  • Control software: SynScanPro, Stellarium
  • Camera: QHY268M
  • Recording software: AstroArt 8
  • Filter: L Antlia Pro
  • Guiding: refractor, 50 mm aperture, 180 mm focal length
  • Guidingsoftware: PHD Guiding 2


Recordings were made:

  • 240 lights with 60 s each (17:56 to 22:15 UTC)
  • 10 Darks
  • 10 Flats
  • 10 Bias


The settings were gain 60, bias 20 and the temperature of the recording chip -12°C, but this dropped to -13.8°C during the night. The brightness of the stars was checked with AstrArt 8. The evaluation of the recordings was done with MuniWin 2.1.


The results

The measurement results were entered both in the database of the AAVSO (American Association of Variable Star Observers) [3] and in the ETD (Exoplanet Transit Database) of the Czech Astronomical Society [6][7]. With ETD, not only is a compensating curve calculated, but data determined from the measured values are also given.


ETD measurement data and regression curve


The values ​​calculated by ETD from the measurement data are shown in the following table. The values ​​obtained by hand are in curly brackets, the values ​​taken from the literature by ETD are in round brackets and the values ​​given in the Swarthmore College Transit Finder are in square brackets.

  • Middle of the transit on 12/14/2022: 20:06:49 {20:04} (n.a.) [20:05] UTC
  • Transit duration: 141.0 +/- 1.6 {141} (148) [140] min
  • Transit depth: 28.8 +/- 0.0012 {29} (28.7) [29.03] mmag


The following figures show a comparison with some other available amateur measurements.


Comparison of measured reductions in the light curve from ETD: The blue dot is our own measurement. Its thickness indicates the quality of the measurement evaluated by ETD.


Comparison of measured transit times from ETD


The use of a 10" telescope to observe an exoplanet transit was successful. The lowering in the second part of the bottom of the light curve is probably due to the switching off of disturbing lighting in the vicinity. Attention must be paid to this in the future and countermeasures must be taken. The moon, which is at least 70% illuminated, could only have influenced the measurements - if at all - after 21:20 UTC.


Since there are two stars in this system, an attempt was also made to make the much dimmer partner star visible. All 240 recordings were stacked together with the flats and darks. The result was further processed and enlarged accordingly.


Own recording


Outlook

The TOI 1259 system is observable all year round. The main star shows a variability in its brightness due to its rotation. It is therefore advisable not only to examine the transit of the exoplanet more closely during a period of good weather, but also to track the brightness of the star over several days. Another attractive - albeit very ambitious - challenge can also be to prove the so-called secondary transit, i.e. the covering of the planet by the mother star, in a light curve. However, very good observation conditions are required for this.


_____________________________________________________________________

[1] Information from: http://exoplanet.eu/catalog/toi-1259a_b/

[2] Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society, MNRAS 507, 4132-4148 (2021) (https://academic.oup.com/mnras/article/507/3/4132/6329054?login=false) The dating of the discovery relates to publication in the journal. December 30, 2020 is given as the submission date. The basic measurements of the space probe TESS (Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite)(https://tess.mit.edu/) took place from July 18, 2019 to July 4, 2020. This also corresponds to the fact that in the database of the AAVSO [3 ] a terrestrial measurement dated April 25, 2020 (by an amateur!) can already be found.

[3] https://app.aavso.org/exosite/?obscode=&in_notes=&star_name=TOI-1259+A&exoplanet_name=&start_date=&end_date=&results_per_page=&search=true

[4] https://astro.swarthmore.edu/transits/transits.cgi

[5] The telescope was kindly given to me by Dr. Achim Tegeler.

[6] http://var2.astro.cz/ETD/etd.php?STARNAME=TOI-1259%20A&PLANET=b
At the time of publication of this report, ETD was still subjecting this contribution to a so-called "quality check", which can result in a delay of several weeks.

[7] Poddany S., Brat L., Pejcha O., New Astronomy 15 (2010), pp. 297-301,
Exoplanet Transit Database. Reduction and processing of the photometric data of exoplanet transits (arXiv:0909.2548v1)

Startseite

„Soeben“ entdeckt – Exoplanet TOI-1259 A b

Dr. Gerold Holtkamp, 22.12.2022


Es wurde die Transitlichtkurve des erst vor zwei Jahren entdeckten Exoplaneten TOI-1259 A b gemessen. Die ermittelten Daten stimmen gut mit Literaturwerten überein. Es handelt sich um ein Doppelsternsystem, was eine Besonderheit darstellt. Die nahe Position am Himmelsnordpol ermöglicht interessante weitere Beobachtungen.


Zugegeben, der Name ist nicht besonders spektakulär und regt auch nicht die Phantasie an. Aber dass dieser fremde Planet erst im Jahr 2020 entdeckt wurde, wo er in gerade einmal 385 Lichtjahren Entfernung von uns um den Stern TOI-1259 A seine Bahn zieht, ist schon bemerkenswert. Aber das Raumvolumen und damit die Anzahl der Sterne nehmen natürlich mit der Entfernung enorm zu. Da kann sich so einiges Unentdecktes verstecken. Auch wenn wir Amateure nicht die Entdecker sein können, so ist es  für uns trotzdem sehr reizvoll, zeitlich so nah hinter den Profis solch eine Planetenentdeckung nachzuvollziehen – mit eigenem Gerät, aus einem stadtnahen Garten – undenkbar noch vor 30 Jahren. Wenn man selber den Beweis führen kann und ihn nicht nur irgendwo liest, das ist eine andere Qualität des Erlebens von Astronomie.


Das Beobachtungsobjekt

Der Exoplanet TOI-1259 A b wurde erst in 2021 entdeckt. Es handelt sich hierbei um das Veröffentlichungsdatum. Die eigentliche Entdeckung dürfte bereits 2019 erfolgt sein. Der Mutterstern TOI-1259 A ist Stern mit einem 0,71-fachen Radius und der 0,68-fachen Masse unserer Sonne und einer Oberflächentemperatur von 4800 K, der uns auf der Erde 12,1 mag hell erscheint. Der Exoplanet TOI-1259 A b ist ein sog. heißer Jupiter, d.h. er hat Jupiters 0,44-fache Masse und seinen 1,02-fachen Durchmesser. Die Oberflächentemperatur von 963 K bedingt seinen Namen. Er umrundet seinen Mutterstern in erstaunlichen 3,48 Tagen in einer Entfernung von gerade einmal 6 Mio. km (große Halbachse). Er erzeugt bei seinem Transit eine Verdunkelung von 29 mmag. Es gibt einen stellaren Begleiter, TOI-1259 B, der in etwa 1600 AU (0,025 Lj) gravitativ an den Hauptstern gebunden ist. Er erscheint uns ca. 19 mag hell [1] [2].


Das System ist als Beobachtungsobjekt sehr interessant:

  • Noch bis vor wenigen Jahren hielt man es für nicht möglich, dass ein Exoplanet in einem Doppelsternsystem eine stabile Umlaufbahn einnehmen könnte.
  • Für Amateurgeräte hat der Mutterstern eine ausreichende Helligkeit und eine hohe Transitverdunkelung.
  • Die Helligkeit des Muttersterns macht das System zu einem möglichen Kandidaten für Untersuchungen der planetaren Atmosphäre mit Weltraumteleskopen wie Hubble oder James Webb.
  • Und schließlich ist die zirkumpolare Position im Sternbild Drache von großem Vorteil, weil sie eine ganzjährige Beobachtung ermöglicht.


Ausschnitt aus der Planetariumsoftware Stellarium


Die Messung

Die Daten zur Vorhersage des Transits von TOI 1259 A b vor seinem Mutterstern wurden der Datenbank Transitfinder des Swarthmore College entnommen [4].


Screenshot aus Transit Finder


Ein Blick zum Himmel am Spätnachmittag des 14.12.2022 und auch die Wettervorhersagen versprachen, dass es eine klare Nacht werden würde. Allerdings sollten Temperaturen von -9° Celsius erreicht werden. Zusätzlich war viel Feuchtigkeit in der Luft. Also galt es, sich und die Ausrüstung darauf einzurichten. Warme Kleidung und eine Objektivheizung für das Guidescope waren ein Muss. So waren im Verlauf der Messungen (> 4 Std.) zwar das Teleskop und die Montierung sehr stark mit Raureif überzogen, Kamera, Guidescope und vor allem Haupt- und Fangspiegel des Teleskop blieben während des Betriebs beschlagfrei. Der Mond ging um 21:20 UTC auf und war zu 70% beleuchtet, aber 83° vom Beobachtungsobjekt entfernt.


Die Ausrüstung am Morgen. Ein ähnliches Bild bot sich in der Nacht.


Als Ausrüstung kamen zum Einsatz:

  • Teleskop: Newton, 250 mm Öffnung, 1200 mm Brennweite [5]
  • Montierung: AZ-EQ6 GT Pro
  • Steuerungssoftware: SynScanPro, Stellarium
  • Kamera: QHY268M
  • Aufnahmesoftware: AstroArt 8
  • Filter: L Antlia Pro
  • Guiding: Refraktor, 50 mm Öffnung, 180 mm Brennweite
  • Guidingsoftware: PHD Guiding 2


Es wurden an Aufnahmen erstellt:

  • 240 Lights mit je 60 s (17:56 bis 22:15 UTC)
  • 10 Darks
  • 10 Flats
  • 10 Bias


Eingestellt waren Gain 60, Bias 20 und die Temperatur des Aufnahmechips -12° C, die aber im Verlauf der Nacht auf -13,8° C absank. Die Überprüfung der Sternhelligkeiten erfolgte mit AstrArt 8, die Auswertung der Aufnahmen mit MuniWin 2.1.


Die Ergebnisse

Die Messergebnisse wurden sowohl in die Datenbank der AAVSO (American Association of Variable Star Observers) [3] als auch in die ETD (Exoplanet Transit Database) der Tschechischen Astronomischen Gesellschaft eingestellt [6][7]. Bei ETD werden nicht nur eine Ausgleichskurve gerechnet, sondern auch aus den Messwerten ermittelte Daten angegeben.


ETD Messdaten und Ausgleichskurve


Die von ETD aus den Messdaten errechneten Werte sind in der folgenden Tabelle dargestellt. Die händisch selbst ermittelten Werte sind in geschweiften Klammern, die von ETD aus der Literatur entnommenen Werte in runden Klammern und die im Transit Finder des Swarthmore College angegebenen Werte sind in eckigen Klammern angegeben.

  • Mitte des Transits am 14.12.2022: 20:06:49 {20:04} (o. A.) [20:05] UTC
  • Transitdauer: 141.0 +/- 1.6 {141} (148) [140] min
  • Transittiefe: 28,8 +/- 0.0012 {29} (28,7) [29,03] mmag


Den Vergleich mit einigen anderen vorliegenden Messungen zeigen die folgenden Abbildungen.


Vergleich gemessener Absenkungen der Lichtkurve aus ETD: Der blaue Punkt ist die eigene Messung. Seine Dicke gibt die von ETD bewertete Qualität der Messung an.


Vergleich gemessener Transitdauern aus ETD


Der Einsatz eines 10“ Teleskops zur Beobachtung eines Exoplanetentransits war erfolgreich. Die Absenkung im zweiten Teil der Sohle der Lichtkurve ist vermutlich auf das Abschalten von störender Beleuchtung in der Nachbarschaft zurückzuführen. Hierauf muss in Zukunft geachtet bzw. müssen Gegenmaßnahmen ergriffen werden. Der Mond, immerhin zu 70% beleuchtet, könnte sich aber erst – wenn überhaupt – ab 21:20 UTC bemerkbar gemacht haben.


Da es sich bei diesem System um zwei Sterne handelt, wurde auch versucht, den deutlich dunkleren Partnerstern sichtbar zu machen. Dazu wurden alle 240 Aufnahmen zusammen mit den Flats und Darks gestackt. Das Ergebnis wurde noch entsprechend weiter bearbeitet und vergrößert.


Eigene Aufnahme


Ausblick

Das System TOI 1259 ist das gesamte Jahr über beobachtbar. Der Hauptstern zeigt eine durch seine Rotation bedingte Variabilität in seiner Helligkeit. Es bietet sich daher an, in einer Schönwetterperiode nicht nur den Transit seines Exoplaneten genauer zu untersuchen, sondern auch die Sternhelligkeit über mehrere Tage zu verfolgen. Eine weitere reizvolle – wenn auch sehr ambitionierte – Herausforderung kann es auch noch sein, den sog. Secondary Transit, also die Bedeckung des Planeten durch den Mutterstern, in einer Lichtkurve nachzuweisen. Dafür sind dann aber sehr gute Beobachtungsbedingungen erforderlich.


_____________________________________________________________________

[1] Angaben aus: http://exoplanet.eu/catalog/toi-1259a_b/

[2] Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society, MNRAS 507, 4132–4148 (2021)
(https://academic.oup.com/mnras/article/507/3/4132/6329054?login=false)
Die Datierung der Entdeckung bezieht sich auf die Veröffentlichung in der Zeitschrift.
Als Einreichungsdatum wird der 30.12.2020 angegeben. Die grundlegenden Messungen der Raumsonde TESS (Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite)(https://tess.mit.edu/) erfolgten vom 18. Juli 2019 bis 4. Juli 2020. Das deckt sich auch damit, dass in der Datenbank der AAVSO [3] bereits eine auf den 25.4.2020 datierte erdgebundene Messung (eines Amateurs!) zu finden ist.

[3] https://app.aavso.org/exosite/?obscode=&in_notes=&star_name=TOI-1259+A&exoplanet_name=&start_date=&end_date=&results_per_page=&search=true

[4] https://astro.swarthmore.edu/transits/transits.cgi

[5] Das Teleskop wurde mir dankenswerterweise von Dr. Achim Tegeler zur Verfügung gestellt.

[6] http://var2.astro.cz/ETD/etd.php?STARNAME=TOI-1259%20A&PLANET=b
Der eigene Beitrag wurde durch ETD zum Zeitpunkt der Veröffentlichung dieses Berichts noch eines sog. „Quality Checks“ unterzogen, so dass eine Verzögerung von mehreren Wochen entstehen kann.

[7] Poddany S., Brat L., Pejcha O., New Astronomy 15 (2010), pp. 297-301,
Exoplanet Transit Database. Reduction and processing of the photometric data of exoplanet transits (arXiv:0909.2548v1)