Home

"Pan Tau" – or the unobstructed view of space

Report about a DIY heating system for the sencondary mirror of a Dobsonian telescope

Dr. Achim Tegeler, December 09, 2023


Just like the always somewhat sad-looking, sympathetic magician Pan Tau, who was portrayed by the Czech actor Otto Šimánek in the 70s and was a somewhat enigmatic companion of my television childhood, there are still constant companions in my life as an amateur astronomer today.

If you don't look at the name "Pan Tau" from the point of view of the Czech language, in which "Pan" means nothing other than "Mister" – "Pan Tau" means "Mr. Tau", other points of view are also available: The prefix "Pan", borrowed from the Greek, also means "whole, total, all-encompassing..." – and in exactly this definition, Tau, the German word for dew, is a constant companion of the astronomer: On mirrors, lenses, objectives and eyepieces, the dew settles everywhere and clouds the view of the universe – it’s Pan Tau (dew)... and in contrast to the magician "Pan Tau" it is very disturbing.

At the last "Sternstunden" with my 12" Dobsonian in November, despite the dew shield attached, dew formation on the secondary mirror. So I decided to take care of that problem by installing a self made heating system. Of course there are ready to use systems available on the market but can it be so hard to build them in a DIY project? It is not...


However, before taking action, it is necessary to clarify how the power supply should run, what power is needed and what type of heat generation is to be used.

Since my Goto-Dobsonian, just like my mounts, are supplied with 12 V direct current, the mirror heater should also be operated with a voltage of 12 V. Since the prevention of dew fogging is already effective if the mirror surface is kept even just above the dew point, there is no need for a lot of heating – it is enough to exceed the dew point. Greater heating would also lead to thermally induced air movements in the tube and interfere with observation – this should be avoided at all costs.

Basically, there are several ways to generate heat at the secondary mirror – flexible constantan wire can be used as a resistor or ready-made wire resistors, which are available in a wide variety of designs. I decided to use wire resistors in ceramic here, as they are available in a wide variety of resistance values for very little money. Depending on the size and total mass of the mirror, only a small amount of power is usually required to keep the temperature of the secondary mirror above the dew point. However, if you forget to switch on the heating early enough, then it is good if you have some power reserve, which you can then use to "defrost" and then turn it down.

Usually, secondary mirror heaters have between 0.5 and 1 watts of power – I would like to have a small power reserve and aim for 1.5 watts. The power P of resistors is calculated according to the well-known formula [2]:


P = U2 / R


with the voltage U and the (total) resistance R. In order to generate approx. 1.5 watts with 12 V, 96 ohms of resistance (122/1,5) - divided into three resistors connected in series (the power should be distributed over a larger area), it should be resistors with approx. 32 ohms. Since 33 ohms of resistors were at hand, they should be used accordingly – so the power would be about 1.45 watts. In addition, there should be a way to regulate the heating as needed. The control should be carried out via a potentiometer/pulse width modulation (PWM) [3], which can be implemented quickly with small, cost-effective modules. A small test setup showed that the resistors got warm and that the control worked very well.  


Test setup for measuring the heating capacity of the resistors


So everything should be installed together in a small housing and the resistors should be glued to the back of the mirror and connected via a thin enamelled copper wire.

For better heat conduction, some thermal paste was used between the resistor body and the glass surface. The resistors were then glued in place by applying cyanoacrylate adhesive.



T prevent the heat to evaporate into the air the whole resistor-system was encapsulated with isolating foam (Armacell) that was cut into shape to ensure that no foam was in the lightway.


Isolation cap made of Armacell


In order to make the cable routing as visually ineffective as possible, I decided to use 0.5 mm enamelled copper wire, which was routed along the top of the secondary mirror spider facing away from the primary mirror and attached with adhesive tape. To pass the wire onto the outside of the tube, one of the screws holding the tube edge was pierced lengthwise and used as a channel.


Enamelled copper wire on the to of the spider arm


The small box with the PWM module was then provided with a socket for the 12 V power supply and attached to the outside of the tube with Velcro. Initially, the cable to the heater was only routed to the box under adhesive film – whether this can remain that way remains to be seen.


regulator box on the outside of the tube


As a small side project, the M4 hexagon socket screws, which are used for mirror alignment and which are always a bit "fiddly" to adjust due to the hexagon socket, were replaced by self-made M4 knurled screws made of brass. They simplify the adjustment and thus the collimation of the telescope considerably – if you can't make the screws yourself, Bob's Knobs [4] are recommended.


Mounted mirror with DIY knurled knobs


The next cool night with dew formation will show how well the secondary mirror heater proves itself – I am very satisfied with the result!


[1] The dew point, or better, the dew point temperature, is the temperature at which, depending on the absolute humidity and the ambient pressure, the water vapour present in the air condenses and thus dew is formed. The exact determination of the corresponding. parameter is relatively complex and is most accurately measured with an (aspiration) psychrometer and subsequent calculation based on corresponding. tables (Sprung's formula). For astronomers, the exact determination of the dew point is irrelevant – the main thing is that the mirror temperature is correspondingly above this mark!

[2] The calculation of electrical power is shown very well here: https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elektrische_Leistung

[3] The principle of pulse width modulation is explained here: https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pulsdauermodulation

[4] http://www.bobsknobs.com/

Startseite

„Pan Tau“ – oder der ungetrübte Blick ins All

Bericht über den Bau einer Fangspiegelheizung für ein 12″ Dobson Teleskop

Dr. Achim Tegeler, 09.12.2023


So wie der immer etwas traurig dreinblickende, sympathische Magier Pan Tau, der dargestellt vom tschechischen Schauspieler Otto Šimánek in den 70er Jahren ein etwas rätselhafter Begleiter meiner Fernseh-Kindheit war, so gibt es auch heute noch stetige Begleiter in meinem Leben als Amateurastronom.

Betrachtet man nämlich den Namen „Pan Tau“ nicht aus der Sicht der tschechischen Sprache, in der „Pan“ nichts anderes heißt als „Herr“ – „Pan Tau“ also „Herr Tau“ bedeutet, so stehen auch andere Sichtweisen zur Verfügung: Die dem Griechischen entlehnte Vorsilbe „Pan“ bedeutet nämlich auch „ganz, gesamt, allumfassend…“ – und in genau dieser Definition ist Tau ein ständiger Begleiter des Astronomen: Auf Spiegeln, Linsen, Objektiven und Okularen, überall lässt sich der Tau nieder und trübt den Blick ins Universum – Pan Tau eben… und der stört im Gegensatz zum Zauberer „Pan Tau“ doch gewaltig.

Bei den letzten Sternstunden mit meinem 12“ Dobson war im November trotz aufgesetzter Taukappe doch wieder deutliche Taubildung auf dem Sekundärspiegel zu beobachten. Also wuchs in mir der Plan, hier mit einer Spiegelheizung endgültig Abhilfe zu schaffen. Natürlich gibt es fertige Spiegelheizungen zum Aufkleben zu kaufen, aber so schwierig kann es ja nicht sein, das selber zu bauen… ist es auch nicht!


Bevor man jedoch zur Tat schreitet, muss geklärt werden, wie die Stromversorgung laufen soll, welche Leistung es braucht und welche Art der Wärmeerzeugung verwendet werden soll.

Da mein Goto-Dobson, genau wie auch meine Montierungen mit 12 V Gleichstrom versorgt werden, sollte auch die Spiegelheizung mit einer Spannung von 12 V betrieben werden. Da die Verhinderung von Taubeschlag bereits wirksam ist, wenn die Spiegelfläche auch nur knapp über dem Taupunkt [1] gehalten wird, muss keine große Erwärmung stattfinden – es reicht die Überschreitung des Taupunkts. Eine größere Erwärmung würde ja auch zu thermisch bedingten Luftbewegungen im Tubus führen und die Beobachtung stören – das sollte tunlichst vermieden werden.

Grundsätzlich gibt es mehrere Möglichkeiten, Wärme am Fangspiegel zu erzeugen – es bietet sich biegsamer Konstantandraht als Widerstand an oder man nimmt fertig konfektionierte Drahtwiderstände, die es in verschiedensten Ausführungen gibt. Ich habe mich hier für Drahtwiderstände in Keramik entschieden, da diese in unterschiedlichsten Widerstandswerten für sehr wenig Geld zu haben sind. Um die Temperatur des Fangspiegels über dem Taupunkt zu halten, ist, abhängig von der Größe und Gesamtmasse des Spiegels, i. d. R. nur wenig Leistung notwendig. Vergisst man aber, die Heizung früh genug einzuschalten, dann ist es gut, wenn man etwas Leistungsreserve hat, die man dann zum „Enttauen“ nutzen und anschließend runterregeln kann.

Üblicherweise haben Fangspiegelheizungen zwischen 0,5 und 1 Watt Leistung – ich hätte gerne eine kleine Leistungsreserve und strebe 1,5 Watt an. Die elektrische Leistung P von Widerständen berechnet sich nach altbekannter Formel [2]:


P = U2 / R


mit der Spannung U und dem (Gesamt-)Widerstand R.  Um mit 12 V ca. 1,5 Watt zu erzeugen, braucht es also 96 Ohm Widerstand (122/1,5) – aufgeteilt auf drei in Reihe geschaltete Widerstände (die Leistung soll ja auf eine größere Fläche verteilt werden) sollten es also Widerstände mit ca. 32 Ohm werden. Da 33 Ohm Widerstände zur Hand waren, sollten diese entsprechend genutzt werden – die Leistung würde also bei ca. 1,45 Watt liegen. Zusätzlich sollte es eine Möglichkeit geben, die Heizung nach Bedarf zu regeln. Die Regelung sollte über ein Potentiometer/eine Pulsweitenmodulation (PWM oder PDM [3]) erfolgen, die sich mit kleinen, kostengünstigen Modulen schnell realisieren lässt. Ein kleiner Testaufbau zeigte, dass die Widerstände schön warm wurden und dass die Regelung sehr gut funktionierte.  


Testaufbau zum Messen der Heizleistung der Widerstände


Also sollte das PWM Modul und die 12 V Eingangsbuchse zusammen in ein kleines Gehäuse verbaut, die Widerstände auf die Spiegelrückseite geklebt und mittels Lackdraht eine Verbindung hergestellt werden.

Für eine bessere Wärmeleitung wurde eine sehr dünne Schicht Wärmeleitpaste zwischen Widerstandskörper und Glasoberfläche eingesetzt.  Die Widerstände wurden dann ringsherum mit Cyanacrylat-basiertem Sekundenkleber befestigt.



Damit die erzeugte Wärme in den Spiegel geleitet wird und nicht nach oben an die Umgebungsluft abgegeben wird, wurde um und über die Widerstände eine Isolierschicht aus selbstklebend beschichtetem Isolierschaum (Armacell) geklebt, die dann so zurechtgeschnitten wurde, dass nichts über die Spiegelkanten herausragt.


Isolierung aus Armacell


Um die Kabelführung so wenig optisch wirksam werden zu lassen wie irgend möglich, habe ich mich für 0,5 mm Kupferlackdraht entschieden, der oben an der dem Hauptspiegel abgewandten Seite der Fangspiegelspinne entlang geführt und mit Klebeband befestigt wurde. Zur Durchführung des Lackdrahts auf die Tubusaußenseite wurde eine Schraube, die den Tubusrand hält, entfernt und das Loch zur Kabeldurchführung genutzt.


Kupferlackdraht auf der Oberseite einer Fangspiegelstrebe


Die kleine Box mit dem PWM Modul wurde dann noch mit einer Buchse für die 12 V Spannungsversorgung versehen und per Klettband außen am Tubus befestigt. Das Kabel zur Heizung wurde zunächst nur unter Klebefilm zur Box geleitet – ob das so bleiben kann, wird sich zeigen.


Die Reguliereinheit auf der Tubusaußenseite


Als kleines Nebenprojekt wurden bei dem Abbau der Spiegelhalterung die M4 Innensechskantschrauben, die der Spiegelausrichtung dienen und durch den Innensechskant immer etwas „frickelig“ einzustellen sind, durch selbstgefertigte M4 Rändelschrauben aus Messing ersetzt. Sie vereinfachen die Einstellung und damit die Kollimierung des Teleskops wesentlich– wer die Schrauben nicht selber herstellen kann, dem seien Bob’s Knobs [4] empfohlen.


Montierter Fangspiegel mit Rändelschrauben zur Einstellung


Die nächste kühle Nacht mit Taubildung wird zeigen, wie gut sich die Fangspiegelheizung bewährt – ich bin mit dem Ergebnis sehr zufrieden!


[1] Der Taupunkt oder besser, die Taupunkttemperatur ist diejenige Temperatur, bei der in Abhängigkeit der absoluten Luftfeuchte und des Umgebungsdrucks der in der Luft vorhandene Wasserdampf kondensiert und sich so Tau bildet. Die genaue Bestimmung der entspr. Parameter ist relativ komplex und wird am genauesten mit einem (Aspirations-)Psychrometer und anschließender Berechnung anhand von entspr. Tabellen (Sprung’sche Formel) vorgenommen. Für Astronomen ist die exakte Bestimmung des Taupunkts irrelevant – Hauptsache, die Spiegeltemperatur liegt entsprechend über dieser Marke!

[2] Die Berechnung der elektrischen Leistung wird hier sehr gut gezeigt: https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elektrische_Leistung

[3] Das Prinzip der Pulsweitenmodulation wird hier erklärt: https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pulsdauermodulation

[4] http://www.bobsknobs.com/